The Distraction-Proof Infographic

I am a big fan of the “piktochart” for displaying information, but also as a creation tool for students. I have not only created infographics on piktochart to illustrate information such as “how to make an inference” and “how to tell a story with narrative plot elements”, I’ve also asked students to use piktochart to create instructional images that utilize sequence, in order to produce simple “how-to” guides.

I use Canva as well. However, I usually use Canva to make digital book club posters to post on my educational social media accounts, to promote our school’s book club, which I sponsor.

Because I had already used both piktocharts and Canva, I decided to try out easel.ly. I tend to get started by choosing a template that I think I can modify to suit my audience and purpose. I have tried starting with a blank canvas, but I usually find that I can get lost, or overwhelmed, when I design from scratch . The templates are helpful in providing initial structure and organization for content. These templates make infographics fairly idiot proof, or if you are like me, distraction proof. With too much freedom, I tend to play too much, getting distracted by all the different design elements, rather than keeping it simple and straight forward. A template allows me to “color within the lines”, but with enough room for modification and “tailoring”.

Easel.ly proved to be very user-friendly, maybe even more so than pikotcharts, however, piktocharts offer more choice in design, especially when it comes to available images, shapes, and icons  that are free to use in your infographic. I also think the templates from Piktochart are more attractive. Still, manipulating my infographic within the easel.ly platform was simple and easy. I especially appreciated the automatic placement guides for lining up images and text, as well as the clone feature, for copying elements you want to use throughout the graphic.

At our school, much to my enthusiasm, we are moving towards practices that foster a love for reading in the classroom. Increasingly, teachers are utilizing student choice and independent reading to drive reading achievement, and increase engagement. Throughout the process of reading independently students reflect on their reading in a variety of ways, including: response journals, discussion, and book talks. My infographic gives some basic advice on how to create meaningful book talks. While slightly modified, the content from my infographic comes almost directly from the work of Irene Fountas and Gay Su Pinnell (see citation on infographic), the creators of the Reading Response Journal template, that we recently adopted at my school.

BreakdowntheBookTalk (3)

 

The Distraction-Proof Infographic

13 thoughts on “The Distraction-Proof Infographic

  1. I couldn’t agree more! pictochart was very sensitive and was quite a challenge. I took the challenge, but wanted to throw my computer across the room a few times – ARGH!!! I also found the other two to be more user-friendly.

    Like

  2. I loved your infographic. I found it useful, to the point, and easy to follow. Some that I came across on the internet seemed so busy that I felt the whole point was lost. Yours had a great balance. It was economical but covered all of the points necessary for a great book talk.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment. One of the things I did to keep it concise was to cut out unneeded words. I think one of the reasons those infographics we see look busy is because there is far more text than there needs to be!

      Like

  3. I was so impressed! Miss Zee, I have a lot to learn from you! What a beautiful infographic. It was so easy to read and understand, So clear in presentation and thought sequence. I was excited to hear you say that you, a seasoned user of some of these tools still use the templates. I felt very overwhelmed while I was creating and the blankness made me feel a little too lost.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacqui McGuire-Day says:

    Great work on your infographics, Miss Zee! I used easel.ly. It took some getting used to, but I got the hang of things after awhile. At first, I was deleting images and text boxes by accident as I tried to move things around. I might have to go back and try piktochart as well! 🙂

    Like

  5. I love your two inforgraphics! I was enjoying the PB&J directions and then was treated when I kept scrolling down to the Book Talk infographic as well! I thought they were both clean, easy to read and follow, and provided just enough information to get your points across. We follow Fountass and Pinnell at my school as well and I love the freedom of choices they promote in reading. Another great author to check out (as I’m sure you already know) is the Book Whisperer, Donalyn Miller. I like your idea to have the students use and create infographics in class. It is my goal now to try this with my fourth graders NEXT year! Great job on your two infographics!

    Like

  6. Great post! It really helped that you had prior experience with other tools so that you could provide ideas on how to use them and give some tips and opinions from your own use of the tools. I also have the problem of getting distracted and lost sometimes if starting from scratch (unless I have something very specific in mind), so having a template as a jumping off point is great. We’re doing the independent reading program at Rolfe as well (I’m super excited about the books we’ve been getting!) so I loved the Book Talk infographic that you shared. It’s simple and not overwhelmed by colors or wordy language. The graphics are appropriate and do not take over the space, but work with the text instead. Great job!!

    Like

    1. thanks for the compliment! I am at Fairfield and I’m so excited to get my classroom library. I’ve got a decent one already from collecting over the years, but it will be awesome to get some new and popular titles for next year!

      Like

  7. Infographics are new to me. I chose Canva and found it easy to use but hard to make it “POP” so to speak. I didn’t try the others. I like the flow chart visual of yours. I would like to see a photo of some sort as the introduction. Would the software let you do that?

    Like

  8. Infographics is a new concept to me. I used Piktochart and feel like I’ve discovered a treasure chest of jewels. I will definitely be using this for presentations in my classroom. You did a beautiful job on your flow chart for Book Talks. I love the way you created something that is useful in your classroom. I am a very visual person and presentations of facts using these amazing tools is very helpful for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

